top of page

Met the Sightsavers !

To start with,Sightsavers is an international organisation that started working since 1966 , which strives to reduce the avoidable blindness and help them further.

My encounter :

After a hard day at work , was waiting to leave the office and a person approaches me asking for a min of my time. As my cab hasn't arrived yet thought of killing time and asked to proceed. She briefed me about sightsavers and told me if I'm interested , a person will contact me to provide me more info.

More about the org:

That's how I came to know about this organisation , http://www.sightsaversindia.in/

Ths site is self-explanatory , is user-friendly and gives all the information that a volunteer or a donor can look for! I chose to hear it from their member who explained me how it functions and what are their goals.

It was heart-wrenching to hear more than 1.4 million people have potential eye problems that are treatable , yet are not due to lack of exposure aboue the free surgeries . As he says "A lot of people have basic eye problems , when treated in early stages can avoid blindness. Yet, they are scared that it will cost them a fortune. Yes, these are the people who can't afford to go to hospitals. However , they are not aware that there are hospitals performing free surgeries or surgeries at low cost just for them. We are one such organisation who have tied up with some hospitals and fund them to perform surgeries at low cost/free. All we need is for them to approach us"

They not only help perform surgeries at low cost but also follow up and help them in self-sustaining. The stories where-in they helped visually challenged in attaining jobs in big corporates is heart-warming to hear . They also provide inclusive education to those whose eye-sight restored. More stories can be found at : http://www.sightsaversindia.in/what-we-do/stories/

They have supported not just in helping them see and self-employ but also showcase their talents. They have conducted a lot of events as seen from http://www.sightsaversindia.in/news . From what I learnt, information about this organisation can help a lot , as finding the people with avoidable blindness is what they are finding a difficulty in. They have already linked up with local communities as I hear to help achieve maximum eyesight restoration.

I wanted to create more exposure for such an amazing work done by these people. If you come acorss anyone with avoidable blindness , please contact them immediately you might be helping some see the world for the first time!

Good luck to the Sightsavers :)

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page